Dodd Street Mine Shaft (circa 1908)

Elmwood Branch


Mine Shaft
In 1720, near the north side of what is now Dodd Street and just east of Brighton Avenue, copper was discovered. Mining began immediately and with it an influx of people and capital. The mine operated until about 1760. This 1908 photograph shows a shaft found under the Bethel Church.